Hello, Viewers,
Here we will discuss 21st Commonwealth Games 2018.This Event was held on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia from 4th April to 15 April 2018.

About Commonwealth Games: The Commonwealth Games are an international multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930 and has taken place every four years since then (with the exception of 1942 and 1946, which were cancelled due to the Second World War).The most recent Commonwealth Games were held on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia from 4 to 15 April 2018. The next Commonwealth Games are to be held in Birmingham, England from 27 July to 7 August 2022. The Commonwealth Games were known as the British Empire Games from 1930 to 1950, the British Empire and Commonwealth Games from 1954 to 1966, and British Commonwealth Games from 1970  to 1974.

About 2018 Commonwealth Games: The 2018 Commonwealth Games, officially known as the XXI Commonwealth Games and commonly known as Gold Coast 2018, were an international multi-sport event for members of the Commonwealth that were held on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia, between 4 and 15 April 2018. The winning bid was announced in Basseterre, Saint Kitts, on 11 November 2011. It was the fifth time Australia had hosted the Commonwealth Games and the first time a major multi-sport event achieved gender equality by having an equal number of events for males and females.


TOP PERFORMANCE BY INDIA IN COMMONWEALTH GAMES                                                                                              


INDIA WON MEDALS  BY SPORTS WISE:                    

Here’s a list of all the Indian players who rose to the top of the podium at the Commonwealth Games arena:  

  1. Saikhom Mirabai Chanu – Weightlifting (Women’s 48 kg)
  2. Khumukcham Sanjita Chanu – Weightlifting (Women’s 53 kg)
  3. Sathish Sivalingam – Weightlifting (Men’s 77 kg)
  4. Ragala Venkat Rahul – Weightlifting (Men’s 85 kg)
  5. Punam Yadav – Weightlifting (Women’s 69 kg)
  6. Manu Bhaker – Shooting (Women’s 10-metre air pistol)
  7. Manika Batra, Mouma Das, Sutirtha Mukherjee, Madhurika Patkar, Pooja Sahasrabudhe – Table tennis (Women’s team)
  8. Jitu Rai – Shooting (Men’s 10-metre air pistol)
  9. Sharath Achanta, Anthony Amalraj, Harmeet Desai, Sanil Shetty, Sathiyan Gnanasekaran – Table tennis (Men’s team)
  10. Pranav Chopra, Prannoy Kumar, Saina Nehwal, Ashwini Ponnappa, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Sikki Reddy, Chirag Shetty, Gadde Ruthvika Shivani, P V Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth – Badminton (Mixed team)
  11. Heena Sidhu – Shooting (Women’s 25-metre pistol)
  12. Shreyasi Singh – Shooting (Women’s double trap)
  13. Rahul Aware – Wrestling (Men’s freestyle 57 kg)
  14. Sushil Kumar – Wrestling (Men’s freestyle 74 kg)
  15. Tejaswini Sawant – Shooting (Women’s 50m rifle 3 positions)
  16. Anish Bhanwala – Shooting (Men’s 25-metre rapid fire pistol)
  17. Bajrang Punia – Wrestling (Men’s freestyle 65 kg)
  18. Mary Kom – Boxing (Women’s light flyweight 48 kg)
  19. Sanjeev Rajput – Shooting (Men’s 50m rifle 3 positions 
  20. Gaurav Solanki – Boxing (Men’s flyweight 52 kg)
  21. Neeraj Chopra – Athletics (Men’s javelin throw)
  22. Sumit Malik – Wrestling (Men’s freestyle 125 kg)
  23. Vinesh Phogat – Wrestling (Women’s freestyle 50 kg)
  24. Manika Batra – Table tennis (Women’s singles)
  25. Vikas Krishan Yadav – Boxing (Men’s middleweight 75 kg)
  26. Saina Nehwal – Badminton (Women’s singles)

Profile Background of These Players:

1.Saikhom Mirabai Chanu (From Manipur)

2.Khumukcham Sanjita Chanu(From Manipur)

5.Punam Yadav(From Uttar Pradesh)

6.Manu Bhaker(From Haryana)

7.Jitu Jai(From Uttar Pradesh)-Winner of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award for Shooting, Arjuna Award for Shooting.

8.Heena Sidhu(From Punjab)-Arjuna Award for Shooting

9.Shreyasi Singh(From Delhi)

10.Rahul Balasaheb Aware(From Maharashtra)

11.Sushil Kumar(From Delhi)-Olympic medals: Wrestling at 2012, Summer Olympics – Men’s freestyle 66 kg,
Awards: Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award for Wrestling, CNN-IBN Indian of the Year in Sports

12.Tejaswini Sawant(From Maharashtra)-Arjuna Award for Shooting

13.Anish Bhanwala(From Haryana)

14.Bajrang Punia(From Haryana)-Arjuna Award for Wrestling

15.Mary Kom(From  Manipur)-Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan, Arjuna Award for Boxing, Olympic medal: Boxing at 2012 Summer Olympics – Women’s flyweight

16.Sanjeev Rajput(From Haryana)-Arjuna Award for Shooting

17.Neeraj Chopra(From Haryana)

18.Sumit Malik(From Haryana)

19.Vinesh Phogat(From Haryana)-Arjuna Award for Wrestling

20.Manika Batra(From Delhi)

21.Vikas Krishan Yadav(From Haryana)-Arjuna Award for Boxing

22.Saina Nehwal(From Telangana)-Olympic medal: Badminton at  2012 Summer Olympics – Women’s singles
Awards: Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna


Print Friendly, PDF & Email