Union Minister for HRD holds a brainstorming session regarding “Stay in India and Study in India”

Union Minister for HRD holds a brainstorming session regarding “Stay in India and Study in India”

Union Minister for HRD Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’  held a brainstorming session regarding “Stay in India and Study in India”  with senior officials and Heads of Autonomous/Technical Organisations concerned of MHRD in New Delhi today. MoS for HRD Shri Sanjay Dhotre was also present on the occasion. 

Secretary, Higher Education, Shri Amit Khare, Chairman, UGC, Shri D.P. Singh, Chairman, AICTE, Shri Anil Sahasrabudhe, Joint Secretary (ICC), Smt. Neeta Prasad and Secretary General, AIU, Smt. Pankaj Mittal participated  in the meeting.

He emphasized that Ministry of HRD should make all efforts to look into the needs of both these categories of students. He said that this situation is presenting two critical issues of concern:

1. Addressing the needs of students aspiring to go abroad

Initiatives needed to retain them by providing appropriate opportunities of education in premier institutions in India

2. Addressing the concerns of students returning from abroad

Supporting these students to complete their programme

The following decisions were taken in the meeting:

1. Chairman UGC will head a committee to prepare guidelines and measures to ensure that more and more students stay here for study in India and come out with mechanism for increasing intake in well performing universities. Also mechanisms will be explored for starting Multi-disciplinary and innovative programs, twinning and joint degree programs, Cross Country designing of centers, facilitating online lectures by eminent faculty abroad, linkage between academia and industry, facilitate Joint degree ventures and lateral entry to Indian Higher Education Institutions.

2. Chairman AICTE will oversee the issues related to Technical institutions.

3. Separate sub Committees consisting of Directors of IIT, NIT, IIIT, CoA and Vice Chancellors of Central Universities will be created who will assist Chairman UGC and Chairman AICTE.

4. Chairman NTA and Chairman CBSE may also be called for inputs looking at their experience in education sector.

5. Joint Secretary (International Cooperation) will coordinate from MHRD side.

6. The Committee will submit report in fortnight time.

Sources PIB

Print Friendly, PDF & Email